95 astro vin w no power to fuel relay- wont start

Topic author
ozone
I am merely driving my van

95 astro vin w no power to fuel relay- wont start

Post by ozone »

yup, i'm a newbie. been reading threads all day!

several days ago i was driving and the engine quit. no sputter, just died. i tried to start, but no go. i put the key in run position and checked for fuel pump sound. it was running and running, and running! it would not shut off as usual. i checked for leaks, but found none. i tried to start again, and she fired right up and i drove about 10 miles home.

today, i went to start it, and nothing! fuel pump did not run. i switched the fuel pump relay with the one next it, but same problem. i jumped the fuel pump relay and the pump ran. i let it run and tried starting, but no go.i sprayed fuel in the intake and it fired. seems there is no power to the fuel pump relay.

i don't know if the problem the other day is related or not. i don't have a fuel pressure gauge, but will try to get my hands on one this weekend. the fuel pump and filter were replaced last fall, and only have couple thousand miles on them.

would a bad fuel pressure regulator cause this problem? does the regulator turn the pump relay on and off? if the fuel pressure is good, should the injectors fire when i jump the relay and let the pump run?

any thoughts? sorry for rambling .... my brain hurts!

Topic author
ozone

Re: 95 astro vin w no power to fuel relay- wont start

Post by ozone »

update,

got the fuel pressure tester and the pump puts out 62psi when i jump the relay. after 1/2 hour, its still holding 53psi.

i guess i will pull off the plenum cover and see what i can see. i'm still wondering if a bad pressure regulator would disable the pump priming cycle on start up and cause the other problem i had initially.

any thoughts are welcome!

NotDadsW41
I sleep in my van

Post by NotDadsW41 »