New member CO

Introduce yourself
( Please do not post help questions here )

Topic author
Digger
I am merely driving my van

New member CO

Post by Digger »

Just bought a 94 astro awd to play in the mountains with.

It needs new seats, or re upholstered and has some dents in various areas, I may or may not eventually deal with.

The steering wheel is off center when driving, alignment is good its just steering wheel if not center. not a big deal but kinda bugs me. how difficult would it be to fix this I wonder?

I am curious does anyone know what year models are compatible with my 94? for parts vehicles? especially for the seats.

Finally my van has about 200k miles on it, what kinda milages can I expect out of this engine?

thanks!

mdmead
ASV Supporter
ASV Supporter

Re: New member CO

Post by mdmead »

Welcome!

For seat upgrade/replacements, for sure anything from '95 back would fit. I'm guessing '96 to '05 too. I'm not an expert on seats, but overall these vans had very few changes during the entire run. (Big interior upgrade in '96, but I doubt it had much affect on seats. and I'd guess adapting for any change wouldn't be too difficult.) In general, interior parts from '95 and back should work for you.

To fix the steering wheel, you'll likely need to readjust both tie-rod ends. It is likely tie-rod end replacement and/or alignments have caused the wheel to be offset over the years.

Engines in these vans crap out around 190K. Pretty much like clockwork. No, I'm kidding! With proper care and feeding, many have gone over 300K. Pretty amazing, but the 4.3 is a reliable mill. (And with so many of them out there, used engines or even remanufactured engines are cheap and easy to come by.)

Welcome to ASV!
Matt
Selah, WA
-96 GMC Safari AWD Hi-Top Conversion -->Stalled 5.3L swap & 5" lift
-74 Ford Bronco -->Far from perfect but mine!
-99 V-10 Ford Super Duty Super Cab 4x4 -->Stock with 285 Cooper ATs
-00 Ford Focus Wagon -->The Red Turd