Camping noob needs suggestions / guidance

A place to discuss all activities related to the Great Outdoors & Camping

Topic author
astronut74
I sleep in my van

Camping noob needs suggestions / guidance

Post by astronut74 »

Ok, so I am completely new to camping. The last time I went camping was when I was 11 with our church group. Now I'm 33 and have a 4 year old son, and I think this would be something different we could do. But I'm clueless.. So, what are some camping essentials? Outside of a tent, what are some things needed? What time of year is a good time to go? Here is some background: I live in east central florida, close to the space shuttle launch site. My sister and her family go camping all the time (in a camper) and needs electrical hook ups, but I was kinda hoping to rough it a bit. I'm only thinking overnight trips right now ( as opposed to weekend or longer trips) because my son is so young any longer might be a bit much for him.
Steve O

94 2WD Astro EXT
179,000 miles and counting
Going from an 8 seater to a 4 seater

potskie
ASV Supporter
ASV Supporter

Re: Camping noob needs suggestions / guidance

Post by potskie »

fishing gear... food.... extra clothes warm and cold. Camp stove. Tarp for tent repairs. Water. Utensils. Plastic camp dishes. Marshmellows. Roasting sticks. Fire starting utils. First aid kit. Survival kit. Things of that nature.
Image 98 Safari RWD. Stock.
Do you smell what Barack is cookin ?!?!

Fire Cakes
ASV Supporter
ASV Supporter

Post by Fire Cakes »